decadent peasantry

March 24, 2009

Spiced oatmeal with grated apples, walnuts, raisins and dates. Topped with brown sugar, melted butter, and a sqeeze of lemon.

Spiced oatmeal with grated apples, walnuts, raisins and dates. Topped with brown sugar, melted butter, and a squeeze of lemon.

I love porridge. I eat it daily if I can, and as such, I need to be forever finding creative new ways to jazz it up. This usually involves some combination of dried fruit and nuts, plus apple or banana for some backbone.

img_23431

However, no matter what, I always find that all of the flavours are a little ‘flat’, they’re all kind of low-notes, if that makes sense. In a moment of clarity, I realized that citrus would add that necessary lift, that little extra zing, and so I grabbed a lemon wedge and went to town with it.

img_23363

WOW! It made all the difference. That hint of sharp acidity cut through the richness of the butter, and the thickness of that oatmeal. There’s no going back!

Score: 9/10 (-1 because it was a bit cold by the time I got around to eating it)

4 Responses to “decadent peasantry”

  1. erica said

    you should probably let other people do some of the tasting and rating.

    can i volunteer?

  2. heather said

    and I thought my cashew, coconut, sultana and cinnamon porridge this morning was luxurious… i’ve snatched your recipe for tomorrow.

    thanks and cheers,

    *heather*

  3. Martina said

    mmmh, sounds like this should be tested… always glad to hear of people who like porridge. here in germany nobody really shares my obsession for this warm, cozy way to wake up your stomach. i also like to experiment with spices like kardamom, nutmeg, cinnamon, vanilla, cloves, ginger, chili,.. – about everything that would make a good cookie dough. i had my first oatmeal in sweden where they put a dollop of lingonberry jam and some cold milk over it. so hopefully my brains will be awake enough tomorrow to remember your idea with the lemon.

    really nice blog by the way, i’ll be back ;)
    martina

  4. Ella said

    this looks AMAZING, I’ve been enjoying my oatmeal with fresh dates, apple or banana and a spoonful of peanut butter lately and I find that really makes it. I am trying to think of something like lemon I could add though, because they really are all very smooth flavours.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

